Ear Protection

/ Ear Protection #1  

petrops

Tractor
Kubota L35
Hi All

Rleative newbie here and finding that the time on my rig may be causing trouble with my hearing. Is there a generally accepted practice of wearing hearing protection on the tractor? Has anyone else found the noise to affect their hearing?

Thanks

/ Ear Protection #2  
I use Peltor work Tunes. Listen to the radio while it cuts out the tractor noise.

/ Ear Protection #3  
I use the Peltor FM radio muffs most of the time. They cut the noise and allow FM radio listening while working. However, I avoid any type of hearing protection whenever I am transiting on the road. I wouldn't want to not hear someone coming up behind me. However, that being said, I probably don't have much hearing left. Forty-four months in Vietnam, as a portion of 33 years in the Navy listening to large guns has done a good job on the middle frequencies. The plus side is that it allows what the wife refers to as "selective hearing". I only hear what I want to hear. /forums/images/graemlins/smile.gif Recommend hearing protection, however, not while transiting on a road.

Bill

/ Ear Protection #4  
All the time - I use E.A.R. Plugs. Protect your hearing - it's hard (if not impossible) to get it back once it leaves you - an ounce of prevention.....

/ Ear Protection #5  
I never wore hearing protection . . . so now I wear two hearing aids. /forums/images/graemlins/frown.gif

/ Ear Protection #7  
I always use earplugs when using the tractor & the weed-whacker. I use ear muffs when I use a chainsaw. I use both plugs & muffs when I use my brush-cutter. Now that's loud. /forums/images/graemlins/shocked.gif

Also, I started using plugs while flying, and it's definitely an improvement.

/ Ear Protection #8