Mowing Finish mower operation

/ Finish mower operation #1  

KB9UDE

Veteran Member
Tractor
John Deere 3320 John Deere x758
I have some experience with a RFM and will be facing the challenge of using my 4720 cab tractor for finish mowing areas I previously used a 3320 OS with MMM on. I have to try and sell the new 3320 and 72D autoconnect deck ASAP. I don't mind the cab tractor at all but I have a feeling turning around and being alert of all the low hanging hazards will get old FAST!

Any suggestions?

If anyone needs a 3320 with 72D please contact me. Less than 40hrs. Purchased mid 2011.
jphippard@yahoo.com

/ Finish mower operation #2  
John I don't have much to contribute here, but I used a RFM on an open station hydrostat equiped tractor and it worked well. Especially to back under low hanging cedar trees with the RFM and see-saw back and forth to move around the tree. I have never owned a cab tractor. Not that there wasn't many a time I wished it was!:D

James K0UA

/ Finish mower operation #3  
I have always had an open cab tractor and have been using RFM's for decades now. You get a feel as to where the RFM is even without looking at it. It does take some time to aquire this.

/ Finish mower operation #4  
I have run a RFM with open station as well as cab since 98 when we got our first cab tractor and you get use to it. I use the mirrors and don't turn around nearly as much as with an open station.

/ Finish mower operation #5  
my KK 72" RDFM hangs probably 4 feet behind my tractor. I have a kinda flimsy sun shade on mine and haven't damaged it or broke it off yet. It's just one of those things you get use to. . . .You've probably got AC too right?
Hey, hire me to mow for you and let me worry about your cab and branches! :laughing:. . .John

/ Finish mower operation #6  
With the cab you will be insulated from sounds that can give you a heads up on potential problems...
I was bush hogging the other day with my dad's cabbed 8050...