Oil & Fuel Hydraulic Oil Replacement

/ Hydraulic Oil Replacement #1  

rchatel

I have a New Holland TC35DA Hydrostat with 345 hours, and according to my owners manual, I need to change the Hydraulic Oil. There are 2 filters, one called the Hydraulic Filter, and the other called the HST filter. I've located these; seems they're not the easiest to get to; but I need to know if they are removed by Spin Off with a common Oil Filter wrench? and if so, I assume normal threads such that to remove the filters you would turn same direction that you would unscrew a wood screw from a piece of wood?? In addition to those questions, I would very much appreciate any advice that you may have before I tackle this project. I have never done a hydraulic oil change before. Thank you.

/ Hydraulic Oil Replacement #2  
Typically, it should be the same as changing engine oil, just two filters instead of one. I don't know anything about your tractor, but it is new enough that they are spin-on and correct threads. I'm sure someone will chime in that knows for sure. Another way is to go get the new filters and look at them to see what they are. Your dealer will know which filters you need, as well as your local parts shop can look them up to get you the correct ones.

/ Hydraulic Oil Replacement #3  
Yeah, spin on like an oil filter. Check to see if you need to reuse magnets or if the new filters come with them.

/ Hydraulic Oil Replacement #4  
It's really no big deal with one exception, you need a lot of catch pan capacity. I have 3 that will fit under my Massey and hold 9 gallons total.

/ Hydraulic Oil Replacement #5  
Your owners manual should give the capacity and type of oil for your system. Once the oil starts to flow it could make a real mess if you try to put the plug back in. So it is real important to have enough drain pan capacity ready before you start.

/ Hydraulic Oil Replacement #6