What are 80 to 120 hp tractors used for?

/ What are 80 to 120 hp tractors used for? #1  

jadk

Tractor
None
Hi,

I'm a grad student working on a research project focused on the north american tractor industry (with no previous experience in this area). I'm trying to break down the types of farms and the tasks that require tractors with 80 to 120 engine horsepower.

For example, operating a horse farm includes hay baling and a specific tractor for that task. What I want to be able to do is produce a table that indicates the tractor horsepower (in the 80 to 120 range) that would be needed for a specific task on a specific farm type.

Any help?

Thanks,
Jad

Note - I know that I should be looking at PTO horsepower which is less than engine horsepower. As long as I don't go outside the 80 to 120 engine horsepower range, I'm fine.

/ What are 80 to 120 hp tractors used for? #2  
There is very little that a 45 horsepower tractor can't do that a 120 hp tractor can do, only on a smaller and less efficient scale.
80 to 120 horse power tractors can efficienly:
Pull a 6 bottom rollover plow, although not many farmers plow any more.
Pull 15ft. disc harrow.
Cut hay and straw
Windrow hay and straw
Bale hay and stray
Make big round bales of hay and move then with a front end loader
Plant row crops such as corn and soy beans
Harvest row crops although this job is best left to combines
Drive a large PTO generator
Move deep snow
Pull a five hundred gallon sprayer
Pull it's way through soft ground
Load a tall silo
Handle large quantities of manure
Pull an 18 foot bush hog
Pull a large manure spreader