Rotary Cutter Selection Assistance

/ Rotary Cutter Selection Assistance #1  

moship

Veteran Member
Tractor
Kubota L3130 HST 4x4 Kubota L4740-3 HST
I am looking to buy a rotary cutter (RC) for my tractor (see below) and would like advice from those with similar sized tractors. It will be used to clear/clean local trails and perhaps on my hunting property. Both places have brush, saplings and plenty of rocks. It will NOT be used to cut grassy fields. Pace of cut does not matter to me. I have never used one before, nor can I borrow one to try.
1. The Kubota manual states 72" max and a weight of 770 lbs for this tractor. The 3-pt generates considerably more lift, so I am curious if it can handle a heavier rotary cutter. The heavy duty cutters are closer to 1,000 lbs (ex: Woods BB600X @1,039 lbs). It is likely the FEL will be used with the RC. Is anyone using the "Heavy duty" cutters with a similar tractor and do you have any issues?
2. It is anticipated many saplings will have to be backed over and pushed by the RC. Are any brand/models better equipped for this?
3. Is a slip clutch better for this type of cutting situation?
4. 60" will not clear the tires, but 72 will. What size?
5. Is the 1.5" cutter capacity on most (Bush Hog, Woods, Rhino) conservative? What happens if it hits something at 2"?
6. I would not mind buy used, but noticed some of the asking prices are more than what they were listed new at 5-6 years ago.

Thanks in advance for your advice.

/ Rotary Cutter Selection Assistance #2  
With 25.5 PTO HP, I think you'd be happier with the 60" cutter...for the mowing you describe. If it had been more field work (grasses and light brush), I'd have suggested a 72" cutter. With field mowing, you can take partial width passes if the tractor bogs. You may not be able to do that when mowing a trail.