tow strap or chain?

/ tow strap or chain? #1  

sendero

Gold Member
Tractor
Kioti DK35
I'm still new to tractoring, and have another question.

One of the things I'll be doing a lot of is pulling trees around. Fallen logs mostly, but I'm also thinking about trying to pull some old dead trees out of my pond.

I'm trying to weigh the relative merits of chain vs. nylon strap. It seems to be a slam dunk for strap - a 3" one can pull unbelievable weight and is cheaper than heavy chain.

Also, I've seen what happens when a chain breaks under stress, and would prefer to not be around when that happens. Of course, I'm sure strap could do damage also...

Comments?

/ tow strap or chain? #2  
The straps are definitely good for a lot of things, but for the work you're talking about, I much prefer chains or cables, primarily because I would expect the straps to get wet, dirty, frayed, torn, etc. Having a chain break can certainly do some damage, but for the size tractor you have, you shouldn't have a hard time finding chains that will hold more than you pull.

/ tow strap or chain? #3  
I agree with Bird on this one - the straps are cheaper & lighter - but once they fray or get torn, you have a severe weak spot. I've snapped a strap before (it had a little tear where it snapped) but I've never broken a chain. I still have a couple of straps though and prefer them for towing vehicles - they're a little more forgiving for that - but for downed trees - I want chain. .... and if you work with a 50 foot heavy duty chain all day - you can skip your upper body workout that night /forums/images/graemlins/grin.gif

/ tow strap or chain? #4  
Yep - what Bird and Mikim said

My understanding is, unless you are taking up the slack in a chain with a "running start" from your tractor, a break is more likely to leave the chain laying on the ground with a LOT less backlash than could be created by the "forgiveness" quality of a nylon strap.