Oil & Fuel Power steering pump bypassing fluid to crankcase

/ Power steering pump bypassing fluid to crankcase #1  

dawilli

Tractor
MF 285
I have an older model 285 MF that seems to be dumping power steering fluid into the crank case. I have refilled my reservoir 4 times only to have it be empty again with no trace on the ground. However, I thought about it and sure enough my engine oil level is coming right on up the dip stick when I checked it. This is supposed to be a new pump. Where in the pump is it bypassing? Or, am I on the wrong track.

In addition, the steering pump pressure never gets any where close to the 1650 psi (more like 700 psi) that it should and it took way too much effort to steer even before this sudden fluid loss.

I'd appreciate any help as I'm not a mechanic by any means......thanks. David

/ Power steering pump bypassing fluid to crankcase #2  
I know nothing about the MF285 but would it be leaking around the seal where it is gear driven into the engine?

/ Power steering pump bypassing fluid to crankcase
That makes sense since that would be the likely route to the crank case. I'll know soon. I may get a rebuild kit and try the new seals....if I can get my nerve up. the kit only runs about 50.00 bucks versus a new pump at around $350.00 to $400.00.

/ Power steering pump bypassing fluid to crankcase #4  
The seal on the end of the shaft is the likely problem. Does it have anything else such as a hydraulic oil cooler on the side of the engine that could leak into the crankcase?

I would not run the engine in this case until the problem was fixed and fluids were changed.

/ Power steering pump bypassing fluid to crankcase #5  
that's where a ford PS pump on a 65+ would be leaking.. at the front drive..e tc.

/ Power steering pump bypassing fluid to crankcase #6  
i have replaced several of the pumps you can get them on ebay for about 280
i work for branson dealer and i did work for a massey dealer