Alcohol Dragster

/ Alcohol Dragster #1  

Mark Page

Platinum Member
Tractor
Massey Ferguson 2615 48hp, 4wd, loader
If alcohol generates less hp than gasoline, why does the NHRA have a whole class of dragsters that race with it?

/ Alcohol Dragster #2  
Runs cooler I think

/ Alcohol Dragster #3  
You can make more power with alcahol but it takes twice as much fuel. One of the reasons that people run alcohol is that the engine runs so much cooler.In my opinion gas is for racing and alcohol is for drinking.
Bill

/ Alcohol Dragster #4  
I'm no expert but here's some information that may answer your question. If not, try a google search on methanol vs. gasoline.

Octane equivalence
Methanol has an equivalent octane rating of 113, which is higher than that of E85 ethanol/gasoline (105) and much higher than that of premium pump gas (93). This allows for higher compression ratios and more aggressive ignition timing, both of which are needed for high-powered racing engines. Pure ethanol is slightly higher, at 116 octane, but you can't sell pure ethanol because people would be drinking it instead of burning it.

Octane rating - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

As you point out, methanol is less energetic than other fuels, with a stoichiometric ratio of only 6.4:1, as opposed to 9:1 for ethanol and 14.7:1 for gasoline. As such, you'd burn a little over twice as much methanol as you would gasoline, in an engine that could burn both. Owners of flex fuel vechicles have already discovered this; they get fewer miles out of a tank of E85 than they do out of a tank of gas, although there's a little more horsepower to be had if the engine can adjust for the higher octane rating.

/ Alcohol Dragster #5