3-Point Hitch 3pt lifting height?

/ 3pt lifting height? #1  

Woody65

Gold Member
Tractor
John Deere 4300 HST 4wd
I am new to operating tractors but have been having a ball the last month settling in to my new to me JD4300. When I lift an implement ( BH or finish mower) on the 3pt, I notice that it only comes up off the ground 5-10 inches. Is this normal or do I have the top link adjusted wrong. I have seen pics and videos of tractors with these implements at a 30 degree angle ( 20-30 inches) from the ground. Are they using a hyd top link to get the implement that high? Thanks :drink:

/ 3pt lifting height? #2  
Your lifted height is set by the top link the shorter it is the higher your implement will travel when you raise your 3ph.
A hydraulic top link would be handy if you needed the clearance traveling then it could be leveled out before/or during use.

/ 3pt lifting height? #3  
If you shorten the toplink it will come up higher. You may want to read your owners manual to be sure you have it adjusted properly for the mower.

/ 3pt lifting height?
When I hooked up to the BH, I connected the lower arems first and had to adjust the top link out 2 inches to make the connection. Are you saying that after hooking up I should then adjust it back in to allow for a higher clearance when lifting?

/ 3pt lifting height? #5  
When I hooked up to the BH, I connected the lower arems first and had to adjust the top link out 2 inches to make the connection. Are you saying that after hooking up I should then adjust it back in to allow for a higher clearance when lifting?

If you need the higher clearance then yes shorten it.

/ 3pt lifting height? #6  
On my Kubota, at the tractor end there at TWO positions/pins where the Top Link may be connected, one above the other.

The top position/pin is the "normal" connection position for tractor end of the Top Link for most implements.