Compression Ratio

/ Compression Ratio #1  

Mark Page

Platinum Member
Tractor
Massey Ferguson 2615 48hp, 4wd, loader
I've noticed recently that not all diesel engines have the same compression ratio. I find this somewhat confusing. If all diesel fuel has a cetane rating of 45 wouldn't all engines need the same amount of heat to ignite the fuel air mixture. Higher compression ratios would seem to cause pre-ignition and lower ratios imcomplete ignition, especially in the winter. I've never really paid attention to this as the 3 diesels I've owned ran just fine at 18/1. I've seen 16 to one but never owned one.
What am I missing?

/ Compression Ratio #2  
That is an interesting question, I have never thought about it that way. I am no diesel mechanic but I would assume (to answer one of your questions) that you wouldn't get incomplete combustion from a lower compression because if you could even get some combustion that would increase the chamber pressure enough to ignite the rest.

the compression ratio isn't the only thing that will dictate chamber pressure, as valve timing and condition of rings will also. Air/ fuel ration may even play some part in how much pressure it takes to ignite. Again, this is all assumption- hopefully someone smarter will chime in.

/ Compression Ratio #3  
Compression on my new Mahindra 3616 Mits motor is 22.5/1. Think u are referring to air/fuel ratio. Diesel has a much higher ignition point than gas, and burns much hotter when it gets going. Also, temp remains consistent, as opposed to gas, hence the lack of spark plugs.
That's what always axed me on these tractors: he spec always shows hp, not torque. Torque numbers are what is important. That's what moves the dirt. :)

/ Compression Ratio #4