small tractor backhoe - in clay???

/ small tractor backhoe - in clay??? #1  

ohbehave

Bronze Member
Tractor
Kubota L3200 (2012)
I live in a very clay area of Tennessee. I'd like to do some digging, but wondering if a small tractor type backhoe is up to the job in clay.

On the one hand, I would think that if you take just small bites of the earth with each "scoop", it is possible to get fairly deep... just a little slower.

Not sure though, I would be mightily impressed if, say, a BX25's backhoe could do the work in tough clay.

BTW, I have no experience with tractors but can see that I will need one on my new land acquisition!

Thanks
Ohbehave

/ small tractor backhoe - in clay??? #2  
The issue with, say, a BX-sized backhoe is that everything about it is small. The short reach means you can't place the spoils far from where you dig, so you'll have to take time out from digging to reposition and to move the spoils with the FEL more often. The smaller hydraulics and lighter weight mean it doesn't have the digging power of a larger machine. That could be important if you're in hardpan or really hard, dry clay, for example, or if you're removing stumps and such. If you're in softer material, it probably will work just fine. If you have small projects, the little units can be perfect; if you've got bigger chores, you'll probably want a bigger tool. That said, there have been any number of owners that have done some very impressive work with those little machines. I'd suggest you arrange to actually use one at a dealer before signing on the dotted line.

/ small tractor backhoe - in clay??? #3