Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Tractor
    John Deere 4520, MWFD, PowrReverser, 400x Loader, JD MX6 Cutter, Frontier 1072 Box Blade

Default Smoothing newly acquired land.

I have 2+/- acres of ridge top (view), pasture/tree-cleared property on a 17 acre parcel. The pasture (really, a meadow) has never been tended at all. It's gently rolling but seriously uneven in terms of walkability. You just about turn an ankle if you step off the Gator. It's too rough to be cut with rider or ZTR because you'd be skinning the ground every few feet. I have my 2012 JD 4520, an OLD disc harrow left on the property which works and weighs as much as a Buick, a box blade, and a chain harrow. I'm a newbie tractor owner, but I figure some combo of these will do the trick. Any advice would be appreciated. Thanks!

Tractor
    Kubota L2800HST w/Frontloader & CC LTX1046

Default Re: Smoothing newly acquired land.

Grapple might be useful than bucket clearing rocks,roots,stumps.

Post some action pics.

You have everything you need for renovation. (A plow would also be nice but the disc will do.) There are many posts on this subject as it is a usual task. You may want to do a search or look at the suggested posts at the very bottom of this whole page.

>First, disc, then cross-disc, then disc again - maybe more. Get the soil to as close to dust as you can.

>If what looks like places with buried elephants still show then use the box blade to drag those flat in all directions thus spreading out the humps.

>Disc again.

>Then go over it with a chain harrow. It will end up looking like a soccer pitch.

(People will be tired of looking at the oft-posted photo, but this is how it could look.)
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Smoothing newly acquired land.-tbn7.jpg  
    2009 Kubota M7040, R1s, LA1153 FEL, fork lift, 3 rear remotes, T&T
    2002 Kubota L48 TLB, 12", 18", 24" HD buckets
    2001 Kubota BX2200, Turf, LA211 FEL