Ditching my tractor for a skid steer

/ Ditching my tractor for a skid steer #1  

bdog

Elite Member
Tractor
Kioti RX 7320
I never thought I would be contemplating this as I have had tractors pretty much my whole adult life. However it seems my needs may have changed. Right now I have a 95hp cab tractor with a FEL and I live on seven acres. The only reason I have such a large tractor is that I need the FEL capacity as I am always unloading pallets and other things that can be 3,000 lbs plus which rules out most compact tractors.

Years ago at my previous properties I was into plowing the land, planting hobby crops, having to shred weeds, etc. My current property could be described as an estate I guess meaning I don't plow any of it I just mow grass with my ZTR mower. I do use a box blade on occasion to dress up some gravel areas but other than that pretty much all I use the tractor for is the FEL. I have a skid steer mount PHD already, pallet forks, and the bucket.

The tractor I have is nice and does what I need but it is large and clumsy. I think a skid steer would do everything I need and would be so much more nimble and more useful for landscaping tasks around the property.

I thought about buying a smaller skid steer in the 10k range that could lift maybe 2k lbs and keeping my tractor for the heavy lifting but then I thought why not sell the tractor and buy a large skid steer (30k maybe) that can do everything? I figure I can sell my tractor for 20k so the net effect is 10k out of pocket either way.

Just wondering if anyone has made the switch from a tractor to a skid steer and how it worked out for them.

/ Ditching my tractor for a skid steer #2