3-Point Hitch Post hole digging

/ Post hole digging #1  

vivancoj

Tractor
None
I am new at using tractors. I have purchased and used several times a Mahindra 28 HP. Model 2816 4WD. I intend to build a fence with "deer fencing" which is a plastic lightweight type of fence. The fence is to cover an area about 75 feet wide by 150 feet (these are aproximations) where I intend to garden vegetables. I will have to set a whole lot of 8 feet poles probably no deeper than 1.5 feet. I am thinking about buying a post digger for the 3 point hitch to dig the holes. I am located in Kennesaw, GA (northwest GA) where the the soil is composed of a lot of clay. Questions: #1 Will this tractor be able to handle this work? #2 What size auger should I use? #3 There are two post hole diggers advertised in Craigslist, one a new Lienbach, 3 point hitch post hole digger with 9 inch heavy duty auger for $575 cash (no sale tax). The other one: a new Trion 6" auger u-frame, adjustable boom, gearbox pto shaft for $525 plus tax. Can you help me make the right decision?

/ Post hole digging #2  
Keep in mind that your 3pt hitch is a category 1 when looking at augers, or any attachment for that matter.

The size auger you need is determined by the size post you will be using. 4" posts I would use a 6" auger, 6" posts I would use a 9" auger.

/ Post hole digging #3  
I've never used either of these. The lienbach digger has parts available and are sold by a sponsor here on TBN, Everything Attachments. The other one (I checked the craiglist add) I'm not sure of the brand name but find out if you can get parts for it before you purchase.

There is a dealer in Trion and the same dealer in Marietta that sells these medium duty off brand diggers.

Your tractor will have no problem handling a digger. As far a straight down hole, that's up to you:)