3-Point Hitch Stabilizer Bar longer than the Lift Arms.

/ Stabilizer Bar longer than the Lift Arms. #1  

Rick230

Tractor
Ford 8N 1950
I'm very new to tractors. I've just used a walk behind tiller and a shovel in the past. I just bought a 1952 Ford 8N (In awesome shape) and am attaching a middle buster. The top link attached fine. Both lift arms attached fine. But not the stabilizer bars. I measured from the center of the attachment point on the middle buster to the center of the stabilizer bracket attachment point. It measured 31 inches on each side with the middle buster centered. The holes in the stabilizer bar measure 31 1/2 inches from center hole to center hole. I had to move the attachment point of the stabilizer bracket one hole toward the front.
Now the bars fit ok but the middle buster head is about 2 inches to the right of center.

Is this ok or does it have to be centered?

I have noticed on diagrams that some people use an adjustable stabilizer bar on one or both sides.

I guess this would work to bring it back to center, other than the cost of the bar or bars.

Any hints or suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

Rick230

/ Stabilizer Bar longer than the Lift Arms. #2  
Did you move both stabilizer bars forward one hole or just one of them? Second question would be are the stabilizer attachment points fixed or adjustable along the axle housing? If adjustible are they spaced evenly from the center of the tractor? Last but not least did you compare the stabilizer bars to verify the length and that the holes you used are aligned?

/ Stabilizer Bar longer than the Lift Arms. #3  
Two inches one way or the other won't make enough difference to notice using a middle buster.

Just hook it up an use it. Oh...and have fun.

Old tractors are a joy to operate for a while. But everyone seems to want an upgrade after a time.

/ Stabilizer Bar longer than the Lift Arms.
Jenkinsph,