30 acre farm. What tractor system do I need?

/ 30 acre farm. What tractor system do I need? #1  

Gonner3

Tractor
None
Hello all. This is my first time posting here though I've been reading you all periodically for a few months at this point. I'd love to pick your brains (figuratively speaking:D) about how to care for the 30 acres my wife and I just purchased. Here is our scenario.

We are utter novices regarding living on a small farm and any response should keep that in mind! Of the 30 acres we purchased 23-25 is in pasture heavily grazed by neighboring cattle. As of April 15 the cattle will no longer be grazing there. The remaining acreage has a mix of various tree species of various ages gathered in pockets around the property. We are building a home, building a 3000 foot gravel driveway (of which the first 1500 feet is shared and completed), have just completed cutting in and graveling our private driveway portion (I purchased a late 1980s Case 1150c crawler loader and did the work) and will break ground June 1 on our home. We are not going to raise crops but may raise livestock at a later time. Currently we are needing a tractor to mow and grade the driveway primarily, potentially split wood and sink fence posts, and whatever other tasks I'm unaware of. I could use a backhoe attachment also.

Given our needs, here are the issues regarding a tractor and implements, and where I need your help:

** Price is paramount and the leading concern. How can I purchase what I need for the least amount possible and where can I do it?
** What range of tractor hp do I need?
** What implements would you suggest?
** What method of attaching implements to the tractor do I need? What pto hp would you suggest?
** Is there an older model of tractor where implements are available and an appropriate grouping can be created? I don't care what the tractor looks like...it can be ugly as sin:)...only that it is functional.
** What questions am I not asking that I need to be asking?