I need your advice

/ I need your advice #1  

trook

Gold Member
Tractor
JD 5075E Cab
Please bear with me. I would like to keep my situation brief, but I can't because you need to know the following information to assist with my particular dilema....

I have been using a JD 4320 open station 48/40hp for the last 4 years to maintain 85 acres of personal property. This includes approx 25 acres of brush cutting pasture and trails, driveway maintenance, FEL work, etc. I also have a small business on the side that consists primarily of brush cutting. I also own and use a 14k gooseneck 22+2 trailer pulled behind a Silverado 2500 diesel that hauls my JD4320 with FEL and MX-6 to and from jobs very well.

When I purchased the 4320, I REALLY wanted a cab tractor to fight the deep south heat and dusty conditions, but the budget would not allow it. As I have continued to bush hog, I decided about 2 years ago that my next tractor will have enough HP to efficiently handle a pull behind 10-ft rotary cutter. This is due to the limited time I have to cut my personal property as well as one particular client who just hired me to cut 15 acres on a routine basis. A 6ft cutter on 15 acres every 6 weeks takes a large amount of time and I am dreading extended time in the upcoming Mississippi heat!

Here is my delima: I have the opportunity to trade my tractor for a slightly used JD4720 with a CAB! It has 66/56 hp which much better than what I currently have and is enough to use a 10ft PULL BEHIND cutter in all but very tough conditions (which I normally do not face). However, I fear that I would be somewhat limiting my future use because of the 56 PTO HP. Therefore, I have also been considering an OPEN STATION 5083e, with 69hp at the pto primarily for the efficient use of a 10ft cutter. I would love a 5083 cab, but the budget will not allow it either.

Therefore, I will list the basic pros and cons of each:

4720 pros:
CAB, CAB, CAB