Mixing bias ply tires and radial tires on a tractor

/ Mixing bias ply tires and radial tires on a tractor #1  

tmc_31

Gold Member
Tractor
NH TN70D, NH L190
Hey all,

I have ruined a tire on my TN70D and need to replace it to finish a job. I don't want to buy a new one yet as as I would like to replace all of the tires at the same time in a few years. I have found a used tire, a 420/90 R30 that a guy says is a good tire and he wants $100.00 for it. It will fit on my rim. The rear tires on my tractor are 16.9-30. I called a tire guy, he said that the tire would fit on my tractor. But, he said that mixing bias ply and radial tires could cause transmission problems down the road. I called my tractor dealer, he said that people mix radials and bias ply tires all the time and that the transmission problems can occur when there is a major difference in the rolling circumference.

Opinions?

Thanks,

Tim

/ Mixing bias ply tires and radial tires on a tractor #2  
I am not a tire expert but I would never mix on the same axle, even if the same size and or circumference.
If it was radials forward, bias aft or the opposite on a slow speed tractor might consider it but I would not do so on the same axle.
We will see what others say.

/ Mixing bias ply tires and radial tires on a tractor #3  
If they are the same circumference when fully inflated, I would use it. You may have to increase the air pressure a bit on the radial side to reduce the side wall flexing (this would reduce the circumference a bit if excessive)which is how the radials provide a bit more traction and ease of rolling. Just air it up till the side walls look the same as your bias ply tire. The only time your tires are really locked together is if you use the differential lock so a bit more or less of circumference isn't going to hurt your differential or transmission.