Overheating wiring harness

/ Overheating wiring harness #1  

DAG1

Tractor
FE35
Hi
When driving my recently restored 1959 FE35 23c yesterday, there was a sudden cloud of smoke from underneath the battery compartment with a few flames coming off the top of the block. These flames quickly died out (my rush to get a fire extinguisher was unnecessary!) but the end result is a badly burned wiring harness.
The harness was purchased at the time of the restoration from Agriline who have told me that they are not aware of any similar problems with their product. Therefore, has anyone any ideas as to what may have caused the overheating? Cheers.

/ Overheating wiring harness #2  
If everything has been fine for a while with all you electrics working then suddenly this then maybe the insulation got chafed or cut on a sharp edge and shorted out. Just a guess.

/ Overheating wiring harness #3  
Do you have an alternator with a voltage regulator?
I have had some bad experiences with the regulators when they failed as they have a connection to full battery voltage and
are connected to the battery with thick wire(s) which can carry a lot of current.
Dave M7040

/ Overheating wiring harness
Hi Gents. Thanks for your replies. No sharp edges for the wiring to chaf on. On further inspection, the loom has melted in at least four places and rather interestingly, the positive lead connected to the ammeter is also slightly burned. The flames appear to have come from some burning leaked diesel fuel which had run back along the tachometer cable! Hence why the fire died so quickly.
I have a dynamo rather than an alternator, but take the point about the voltage regulator. The engineer who restored the tractor has stripped out the burnt harness and we have compared it with the original 'tired' one which we took out. The wiring on the original does seem a bit more substantial.