Ticking under motion

/ Ticking under motion #1  

adventure bob

Platinum Member
Tractor
JD 345/ Kubota Side by/ kubota ??
Ok so maybe im just a paranoid newbie. New L4060 making an audible tick, tick tick, that is speed variable and can only be heard in the cab. It cannot be heard outside the cab. It sounds like a U joint or bearing to me but I cant find the thing. Its not at the wheels, again cant hear it outside the cab.
Any suggestions would be useful.

/ Ticking under motion #2  
Does it sound like its coming from the rear-end? Could be a broken tooth floating around in the transmission, as you go faster the harder it hits the other gears and the louder it gets.

Could it be that you can hear it outside the cab but the engine noise is overpowering it?

If it is under warranty I would have the dealer look at it. If not drain the fluid and see what comes out.

A piece of a gear would be one of first thing to fall out as it will settle to the lowest point which is the drain hole location. If you don't see anything a scope camera might give you an idea and look inside to see what is going on.

/ Ticking under motion #3  
A ticking sound like that is very often a broken tooth in the tranny….ask me how I know :(

Is the sound limited to only one gear/range, or all of them? It can be either, and still be a tranny problem (just output versus input side).

I wouldn't use it with any sort of load on it….if you do, and it's a broken tooth, when the opposite gear hits the missing tooth, it will jump to the next tooth, and can shear off a whole bunch of them, which will totally lock up the gears, and usually means a complete overhaul….again, ask me how I know :eek:

/ Ticking under motion #4  
ask me how I know

How do you know?

Has the diff-lock been used? Most aren't made to be engaged while in motion and cause damage when they are.

/ Ticking under motion #5  
How do you know?