Potato Supplier Quality

/ Potato Supplier Quality #1  

DeereMann

Platinum Member
Tractor
John Deere 1026R
Been growing boiler taters for many years. A number of years ago, I started to see Colorado Potato Beetle infestations. I tried rotating crops, using preventive insecticides, nothing worked to rid myself of the annual plague.

Several years ago the supplier I had been using for many years suddenly indicated (in their catalogue) they could not ship potatoes into the State of Minnesota. I called & asked 'em why, they would not say.

So I switched supplier to Burpee - no problem. They shipped here. And - no more beetles! :confused:

Is there a correlation here?

I also noted the previous supplier has changed location, etc. - mebbe they got bought out &, er, "improved" by corporate beaners?

/ Potato Supplier Quality #2  
Probably couldn't certify their seed stock was disease free. I really don't think the seed stock had anything to do with your CPB problem or lack of it. :D

Spinosad (BT) products work great on controlling CPB.

/ Potato Supplier Quality #3  
Agree with DFB that seed stock is not likely to be the problem, but who knows. I haven't bought seed potatoes in a long time...I usually have enough left over in the spring that have started to sprout and just use them. I guess that part depends on how large your potato patch is.

Dunno if it's coincidence or not, but I've found that waiting until mid-June to plant (as opposed to the end of May) helped. Didn't totally eliminate them, but they became a lot more manageable.

/ Potato Supplier Quality #4