Bush Hog Use on (2-4") trees How do you do it?

/ Bush Hog Use on (2-4") trees How do you do it? #1  

AndyMA

Elite Member
Tractor
Ford 2120 , Kubota MX5200 , Deere X748SE. 1956 Economy Tractor
Bush Hog Use on (2-4\") trees How do you do it?

Recently I've read so many different posts regarding the capacity of Bush/Brush Hogs on larger brush. I was going to post this message under another thread, but then decided to post it under its own heading to get maximum responses. I have a question. How do you "mow" 2-4" trees with your Bush Hog? I'm really interested in how you drive over them. I have been using brush hogs for over 20 years. I currently have a SQ600 on a Ford 2120 (43hp). I've used much heavier duty ones on larger tractors and not that much changes. Sure the 2120 will cut a 2-3" sappling without any trouble (and I agree with Bird, the noise will scare the pants off you the first time). The issue is how do you get the tree under the mower to be cut? Something has to knock it over and that's not going to be the front edge of the mower. The way I do it is with the FEL by keeping the bucket level to the ground and about a foot above it. Otherwise what is the tree going to hit, the front, underside, axles and everything else on the tractor, ripping off alot of things. I know I've lost a fair amount of lines, hoses etc. even after knocking the trees over They pop up and by the way tie rods don't seem to like the trees much either. The loader also finds many of the rocks before the blades do. Even after sucessfully running over (mowing) a 3" tree, in my experience it is mostly delimbed and debarked on one to two sides. I may not have even severed it's connection to it root. This is where I go in with my wood chipper and backhoe and clean up. I also find that even 1/2 to 2 " brush leave behind a fair amount of sharp stumps that do a pretty good job at puncturing tires. I'd also like to know how you do it with a sub 30 horse tractor. Sometimes I knock the area over