Extended idling vs switching on and off

/ Extended idling vs switching on and off #1  

outsidezion

Tractor
Bobcat CT225, Case 444,
I process about a chord and half at a time: I cut 5 or so trees down, cut to 2-3 lengths then use my forks to move the lengths to a central spot where I saw the rounds while the logs are on the forks. Then, I run my 3 pt log splitter.

The tractor is mostly idling while logs on the forks and when running the log splitter. About 5 hrs at a time.

Is it better to switch the tractor off during many of these intervals (like while I'm sawing rounds while the logs are on the forks) or just keep it running?

I'm not using much fuel but I'm piling on engine hours. But all that starting may be worse?

/ Extended idling vs switching on and off #2  
While I am not a mechanic, I would switch off if not required for more than a few minutes, once the engine has warmed up.

Once the engine is warm, there is plenty of oil on the cylinder walls and the engine should start easily. Running for 10 mins while doing nothing, just uses fuel, wears the engine and puts time on the meter.

This assumes you are in reasonable temperatures and not in a howling snow storm!!

Weedpharma

/ Extended idling vs switching on and off #3  
If it's not going to set too long (more then 5 minutes), I leave it idling....more then 5 minutes, I shut it down.
This is after it's warmed up, of course...

/ Extended idling vs switching on and off #4  
Extended idling not only wastes fuel but it can wash down engine cylinder walls with unburnt diesel from lower operating temperature of engine.

/ Extended idling vs switching on and off #5