Mowing Brush mower seems to stall out in heavy vegetation

/ Brush mower seems to stall out in heavy vegetation #1  

Overmyhead1

Tractor
Mansfield property master brush mower
I bought mansfield property master with mower attachment. In part, the price was right.

I am not experienced and read many posts about the workout I'm in for. Good news is I am in shape and willing to sweat and I did just that today!

So here's my question: the blade seems to get stuck up in heavy vegetation. It works a little better if I push down on the handles and ride the mower up like an open mouth. Is this normal?

If there is something wrong with the unit, I want to tweak it. If this is just the nature of the beast, I can accept that.

If I move slowly and hold it up, it can do it. It just seems like the motor should power through it.

Mower attachment arrived in the lowest setting. I have contemplated raising to a higher setting but thought I would seek advice on here.

Thanks in advance for sharing your guidance!

5 acres buckthorn and weeds, up to 1/2 inch or /4 inch, 3 feet tall

/ Brush mower seems to stall out in heavy vegetation #2  
Well I googled the equipment you mentioned and wound up on the DR site. Somewhat limited information there but I assume this is the pull behind an ATV or lawn tractor self contained mower. That said, my first knee jerk reaction is that you are overloading the engine with what you are mowing. First thought is to go slower and only take a partial bite, like half the width of the deck, or for the first time around 1/4 the width. Once you get the field in reasonable shape and the clippings have fallen sufficiently to be out of the way for the next cutting, it surely will go faster if continued in a timely manner.

First of all I have about $8500 worth of DR mowing equipment so this is not a bash.