Multirotors / Quadcopters / otherwise known a DRONES

/ Multirotors / Quadcopters / otherwise known a DRONES #1  

Cherokee140

Platinum Member
Tractor
John Deere 650, Ford 8n, John Deere Model 70 Kubota BX25D
First off let me say if this is the wrong area just move it to where you feel best.

I have posted up a few videos I have shot from my multirotor and have gotten quite a few comments on them that I figured there might be enough interest in these flying machines to start a thread....if not it will die a quick death.

I don't claim to know even 1/10 about multirotors, but I have been flying RC for over 30 years. I know a little about them, but it is a moving target and things are in change all the time.

Why would this community care about this stuff? Well first off it is kinda fun. Second they are very handy for checking out things ranging from storm damage to seeing if you need to clean out your gutters on your house....so if you think you can see a use, fun or otherwise read on.

Costs....first thing everyone wants to know is how much does it cost....and the usual answer it depends. They can cost as little as under $100 to well into the tens of thousands for "hobby" classed aircraft. But for under $500 you can get into the air with a good quality unit that will be repairable and large enough to carry a camera.....you can go up from there.

Differences.....in painting with a very wide brush there are two types of birds.

Manual, this you fly the thing 100% of the time.

Autopilots....there are really two different auto pilot type birds out there, one is APM, the other is DJI/Naza/Wookong (Phantom) These are really the two most popular at the moment.