Author w/ Question about a John Deere, Model 850

/ Author w/ Question about a John Deere, Model 850 #1  

IGotAQuestion

Tractor
none
Hi everyone.

I am an author and in my current book my character, who knows nothing about tractors, needs to move a 1980 John Deere tractor, model 850, out of a barn. Move it about 25 feet. I need to know how one would operate said tractor. :) I have been told the following. Is it correct? If not, could someone give me the right steps to move the tractor? Thank you.

Steps I've been told:

Insert key. Put differential and gear into neutral and while holding down the clutch press down brake. Then put gear into low gear and release brake and clutch. Roll tractor forward and when you want to stop, push down both clutch and brake, and then put differential and gear into neutral and turn off engine.

/ Author w/ Question about a John Deere, Model 850 #2  
Insert key, set hand throttle to about 40%, put range into neutral, depress clutch, depress brake, turn key, bring up any implements and attachments, put range into low, put trans into gear, take foot off brake, release clutch, drive, park, drop implements, put transmission into neutral, put range into neutral, pull hand throttle to off, turn key to off, lock clutch to disengaged with vice grip.

Assumes the area is flat enough that all clutches and brakes can be disengaged during storage and implements and attachments can and will safely hold the tractor.

/ Author w/ Question about a John Deere, Model 850
Thank you, Rock Knocker.

Yes, the area is flat. And there are no attachments. :)

In regards to the hand throttle, you mentioned setting it at 40%. Is this something that can be set at various percentages? Say 50% or 15%, etc? And how is it set at a percentage? Do you just sort of guess at what you think is the percentage you want or is there percentage marks on the throttle that you go by?