3-Point Hitch Hydraulics freeze in cold

/ Hydraulics freeze in cold #1  

wellssc2002

Tractor
Ford 861
I have a Ford 861 Powermaster. During periods of sustained (2 days or more) cold weather (around 20 degrees F or less) my hydraulics won't lift the 3-point. Everything else about the hydraulics works fine. I assume there is water in the fluid and needs to be changed it out. I have purchased a 2 gal jug of UTF 134d from Tractor Supply. Before I set about doing this I thought it wise to ask a few questions of folks more knowledgeable than me.

First, I have read that some recommend changing the fluid in the trans, hyd, and differential all at the same time because of fluid mixing between these compartments as a result of worn seals. If this true?, beneficial?, necessary? Second, I have also read that some recommend flushing the system with a combination of fluids before replacing them (diesel? + UTF + ??). Talk like that makes me nervous, but I'm willing to learn. Third, once I change out the fluid should the lift arms work immediately, or is there any priming of the system that must take place. Thank you for any insight.

/ Hydraulics freeze in cold #2  
I don't know. But my experience with the BX2200 is that for some reason and (I expect it was water in the system) The bucket when cold in the winter would not tip up or dump until all was warmed up. Then I had the hydraulic lines replaced due to rot and age. Of course the hydraulic fluid was replaced and all has been working perfectly since then regardless of outside temperatures. :thumbsup: No major flushing of the system was done. Just new filters, lines and fluid. Also I did not do the work myself. :D

/ Hydraulics freeze in cold #3  
wellssc2002,

I have only worked on one old Ford tractor in the past, but I will give you my thoughts.