Question for all backhoe owners

/ Question for all backhoe owners #1  

sw18x

Bronze Member
Tractor
Looking
It's my first time owning a backhoe (Kubota B2650). I've got several yard projects in addition to some heavier work in the woods. The yard projects include digging up some old shrubs in the front garden, a couple medium sized stumps for removal, boxing out an area in a fenced playground for stone. So I got thinking, and realized that for each of the yard projects, just dumping the dirt in a pile on the grass as I hoe is far from ideal - not only does it create a second mess to clean up later, but will likely end up trashing the grass with the FEL. I'm wondering how experienced operators out there deal with this. What do you do with your dirt when you're digging in an area like a lawn where you want it removed immediately?

The possible solutions I came up with are setting up my small trailer and loading that, except then I'd have to remove the backhoe to pull the trailer with the 3 point hitch. If I had a hitch mounted on the BH I could then drag the trailer to the field and tip it up with the FEL to dump it. Or, I was thinking of buying a cheap used bedliner, dump my spoil into that as I dig, drag it away when I'm done, and use the FEL to tip out the load. Of course, I could try talking my wife into letting me buy a Gator with a dump bed but coming on the heels of a new 2650 I doubt that will happen.

/ Question for all backhoe owners #2  
Either putting the dirt into something like you said, a trailer, or in my case, I have a small 6 yard dump truck. If I'm putting the dirt back where it came from and I want to protect the grass, I use sheets of plywood. Why can't you hook up a trailer to a pickup truck?

/ Question for all backhoe owners