Looking to Downsize

/ Looking to Downsize #1  

redlevel

Gold Member
Tractor
Kubota MX 4800
I have been operating farm tractors for about 57 years.
I started on Ford N series and 600s, graduated to MF 135s and 175s, Ford 3910/3930, then various Ford, New Holland, and MF 100hp+ tractors. I figure I have at least 25,000+ hours in a tractor seat.

I currently have a JD 5105. It is a good, reliable tractor, but I'm thinking of downsizing, and moving into the 21st century, so to speak.

I have about 15 acres of pasture to mow, occasionally disc, and maybe pull a drill over. I have about 65 acres of planted pines that I sometimes need to do maintanence on, such as pushing fallen trees, mowing briars, plowing or harrowing fire breaks, etc. Not every day, nor even every week, but maybe a dozen or so times per year. I won't be doing serious farming, but pretty serious gardening-about an acre every year.

I'm thinking of stepping down to something in the 30hp range with HST. Say, something equivelant to a Kubota 3301.

My questions: will such a tractor do the things I need to do? Will I be satisfied with a compact tractor after all these years using "real tractors?" Will I have trouble transitioning to the HST transmission? Can I plow my one acre garden with a breaking plow or a subsoiler? I'm used to a tractor being a tough machine that can take some hard use, maybe even a little abuse, every now and then. Will the compacts do that?

At my age (67) I want something reliable, something with a good warranty, and a good dealer support. I want something a little smaller than the 5105 JD, and with a few more amenities, especially the HST. In short, if it proves satisfactory, this might be my last tractor purchase.

I'm liking the the 0 down, 0 percent financing from some of the manufacturers, too.

What do you think?

/ Looking to Downsize #2