T-Post installation

/ T-Post installation #1  

TheMan419

Veteran Member
Tractor
New Holland Boomer 24
Ok great brain trust....

We are putting in horse pasture. T-posts and then string wire on them which will be electrified.

I am a tractor newbie. I have a New Holland Boomer 24. I have read up and watched video on using the bucket to push the T-Posts into the ground.

Soil is sandy loam and pretty soft.

The corners will be wood posts and I have a buddy with a 3 point post hole auger that we will use for those. Those will also be cemented in place, as will the posts needed for the gates.

How reasonable is it for a newbie to think I will push the posts in with the bucket? Also any tips?

/ T-Post installation #2  
String a tight wire FIRST, then pound posts otherwise it is crooked. We have done the loader push thing but only in the spring when the ground is damp. Almost a horse apiece to post pound or to loader push on the speed to do it so, .....

/ T-Post installation #3  
I've put some in, pay attention to any angles due to uneven ground. Off just a bit is usually ok, but if off very much, you can easily bend posts.

/ T-Post installation
String a tight wire FIRST, then pound posts otherwise it is crooked. We have done the loader push thing but only in the spring when the ground is damp. Almost a horse apiece to post pound or to loader push on the speed to do it so, .....

Oh yes we will run a string first to tell us where the line is to go. I just want to use the loader to push them in rather than pound them in. Also fall here is damp so we are good on that score.

/ T-Post installation #5  
If the ground is not hard, one person could probably do it faster manually than with a tractor pushing.

Here are some video ideas. Using the bucket down force on a guide pipe may work almost as well as the hydraulic pusher style. If you make the guide pipe as long as the desired above ground post length, it becomes an automatic depth gauge.