3-Point Hitch Overloading three point hitch can it break it?

/ Overloading three point hitch can it break it? #1  

tractordog

Silver Member
Tractor
T1520
Hi,

I have a new holland 1520 that is rated to lift under a ton. I am having pellets delivered, I thought I would give it a try to lift the pallets.Could I break the three point hitch doing this using a three point forks attachment ?

Thanks for you comments

/ Overloading three point hitch can it break it? #2  
Your 3 pt has a limit. If what you are trying to lift is too heavy the pressure relief will open and not let it lift to avoid damage to the 3 pt. The same goes for a loader, if equipped, if the load is too heavy the relief will open and it won't lift.

/ Overloading three point hitch can it break it? #3  
I am no expert and there are plenty of guys on here much smarter than me on these types of questions but I wouldn't think it would be a problem as I think there is a relief valve on the hydraulics if the load you are lifting is too heavy it just won't lift it. If it does lift the load I wouldn't be bouncing across the land with it as it might snap one of the lift arms, at least i would drive gently with it. just my 2 cents. like your member photo.

/ Overloading three point hitch can it break it?
Thanks for your replys

Only planing to move the pallets twenty or so feet over to garage. I think I am only a few hundred pounds under the ton. May remove a few bags to see were the limit is

/ Overloading three point hitch can it break it? #5  
I just had a heavy wood chipper delivered. With the chipper, crate/pallet, and 3 point pallet fork, I was at the weight limit of my three point. At first it wouldn't lift it after pulling the lever and then after several seconds, the 3 point got the load up. I didn't damage anything though.

/ Overloading three point hitch can it break it? #6  
+Overladed, it should go into relief before it breaks, but hit a big bump at speed, something will give.

Attachments