Spreding Sand - newbie needs help!

/ Spreding Sand - newbie needs help! #1  

TheMan419

Veteran Member
Tractor
New Holland Boomer 24
Ok so total newbie question.....

We are in the process of building a barn and indoor riding arena. The indoor will need about 3 inches of sand spread evenly over top for good footing.

This is what the box blade is for right?

/ Spreding Sand - newbie needs help! #2  
A box blade would work, but a land plane would be better at getting a mow level surface. For a newbie, a box blade isn't that easy to use especially without gauge wheels on the rear (a home made attachment that I don't think you can buy with a box blade)

/ Spreding Sand - newbie needs help! #3  
If you can afford a specialty implement for spreading three inches of sand I would go for a Landscape Rake, preferably with gauge wheels, which has a sieve effect, which will level the surface with much less operator experience than a Box Blade. Later, a Landscape Rake will sieve out horse apples if the sand is dry.

VIDEO: landscape rake tractor - YouTube

The premier tool for horse arena maintenance is a $5,000 ABI TR3 Rake.

VIDEO: tr3 rake - YouTube

Last edited:
   / Spreding Sand - newbie needs help! #4  
I would recommend a 5' landscape rake for your tractor. While a small land plane grader scraper might be ideal for the initial spreading the landscape rake will be more useful long term for clean up.

/ Spreding Sand - newbie needs help! #5  
I have used my box blade to do something similar by mounting spacers to the side skids. I then placed small piles in line and pulled through it. The ruts left by the spacers I just raked in. I did this to place gravel on my drive evenly. For 3 inches you could use 2x4 on edge. Taper ends so they dont dig in. In my case there were holes in the box sides so I was able to bolt the spacer boards on. On trick is not to try and move too much, otherwise the box blade will float up.