Best way to put new yard in

/ Best way to put new yard in #1  

wisconsinguy

Silver Member
Tractor
JD 2210
Hi

I thought I'd get some opinions on putting in a yard. I have about 1 acre to do. I've cut the weeds and tilled and raked it with a landscape rake. Its pretty much bare dirt now. I've been digging some black dirt out of the woods and covering some bad areas. Whats the best way to spread and level out the black dirt? How do I get one of them nice smooth lawns?

thanks for any help
Phil

/ Best way to put new yard in #2  
Use your Landscape rake like a Box Blade and you will have it smooth and level in no time. I am no expert but this worked for me.

/ Best way to put new yard in
I have a landscape rake with guide wheels is it best to set the wheels so there is an inch or two between the rake and ground, will this leave a nice layer of black dirt.?

Phil

/ Best way to put new yard in #4  
Phil

Yes. /forums/images/graemlins/smile.gif

You may have to adjust the 1" clearance to get the exact thickness of topsoil you want. I helped my neighbor do about 3/4 acres a couple of weeks ago. With the gage wheels set to let the tines just clear the ground. I used the top link to set the final clearance to get about 1" of topsoil.

/ Best way to put new yard in #5  
I like lawns that are grass rather than dirt. /forums/images/graemlins/grin.gif

/ Best way to put new yard in #6  
</font><font color="blue" class="small">( I like lawns that are grass rather than dirt. /forums/images/graemlins/grin.gif )</font>

If it's dirt, it can't be a lawn now can it /forums/images/graemlins/shocked.gif /forums/images/graemlins/tongue.gif.

/ Best way to put new yard in #7  
I would suggest lots of rotatilling in different directions. The tiller will move a little dirt each pass and eventually level things out without a lot of compaction.

Egon

/ Best way to put new yard in #8