Loader How to not damage your FEL

/ How to not damage your FEL #1  

ransonjd

Bronze Member
Tractor
BCS 605
I've never used a front end loader before, except to try out tractors at the dealers. I'll be getting a DK4510HS with a KL5510 Loader and an EA 54" Wicked Grapple. I've seen a number of posts that mention damaging the FEL frame or hydraulics doing various seemingly innocuous tasks. What can I do (or not do) to avoid damaging my new purchase?

--John

/ How to not damage your FEL #2  
Buy a tractor 3.75 times bigger than you need, and it should be bullet proof...

* grin * just kidding...

Careful use, and common sense go a long way. Remember it's a loader, ment to lift and scoop, not a bulldozer. Digging in settled ground is putting alot of force on loader masts and cantilevered mounting points... be aware, and understand how you are applying the forces, and it will last longer.

What are your planned uses?

/ How to not damage your FEL
Moving fill. Pulling out vines from the woods. Pulling boulders out of a field and rockpile. Providing counterweight for rear attachments.

--John

/ How to not damage your FEL #4  
Do not backup with the loader in the air trying to pull something out! Go Slow and watch videos of experienced operators. Also, Don't backdrag with the bucket dump (cutting edge vertical) and backdrag.

/ How to not damage your FEL #5  
Don't try lifting a very heavy object using just the left or right corner of the bucket. Don't ram into pile or things to try to break it loose.

/ How to not damage your FEL #6  
I think that most of the time when something breaks, it's from going too fast. Go slow and you will quickly build up the experience to know what you can and should not do.

/ How to not damage your FEL #7  
Don't try lifting a very heavy object using just the left or right corner of the bucket. Don't ram into pile or things to try to break it loose.