Sawmill power unit upgrade

/ Sawmill power unit upgrade #1  

Oldpath05

Tractor
none
My son bought a 453 Detroit diesel power unit this past week 2.5k, he's been using a rebuilt 59 GMC 261 six cylinder to power his shingle mill for ten years and has now gotten tied. Something he said I thought was kinda unusual, weight is 1,400 lbs. heavy his loader can barely pick it up, takes 5 gal oil for a oil change and he said it's 2 stroke, thought diesels were 4 stroke, I can never remember what the strokes are call.

20170609_173620.jpg 20170609_173406.jpg20170609_173429.jpg

/ Sawmill power unit upgrade #2  
Detroit diesels were called screaming jimmies because they are/were? 2 strokers

/ Sawmill power unit upgrade #3  
You'll recognize the sound of that 2 stroke once he fire's it up. Many skidders had them along with lot's of older machinery & trucks. FWIW the 4 is the # of cylinders and the 53 is the displacement of each cyl. (c.i). I'm no expert on them but I think they all were "blown". Look for a strange casting involved with intake air that has "GM" embossed into it.Detroit Diesel Grain Truck - YouTube
The best way to turn diesel fuel into noise!

/ Sawmill power unit upgrade #4  
Here's anotherhttps://www.youtube.com/watch?v=es5iyQVUX4o
Wouldn't want to spend all day in one, but music to my ears.

/ Sawmill power unit upgrade #5  
The old Letorneau Electro Stackers down at the mill had V8 Detroits that were turbo and super charged and they ran at high idle all day to generate the 480 3 phase to run everything........nothing like the roar of a Detroit Diesel rolling by. Should of seen them when they blew the supercharger off the top of the engine, all replaced now by a more economical Cummins

Some of the older EMD diesel engines for locomotives had a sprag clutch driven blower that also had a turbo wheel in the exhaust, so the scavenging was engine driven until the exhaust picked up and then was exhaust driven at higher throttle settings.

David