Can it do it? Disc and hay grapple

/ Can it do it? Disc and hay grapple #1  

CDennyRun

Gold Member
Tractor
NH Workmaster 75
Hey folks! Long time no post. I recently bought a Kubota grand L5030 (45 PTO hp 50 @ the engine), 4x4 with loader, R 4's and the rear tires are ballasted with Calcium.. weighing in at around 6500lbs I'm guessing.

My questions are: Do you think it could pull an 8' disc? The R 4's leave me questioning that I can. Also I'd like to build a 8-bale hay grapple for it.. would that be too much for the loader? I know I would probably need more ballast. I don't know what the loader can handle that far out. Lift to full height @ 500mm is 1764lbs.

I was just wondering if anyone else with a similar sized/weighted tractor has done the things I'm hoping to with this tractor.

Thanks in advance!

Regards,

Chris

/ Can it do it? Disc and hay grapple #2  
I have a NH Workmaster 60 that's 1,000 lbs heavier bare tractor. All else is the same, loader, & R4's filled. I have a set of Taylor way 8' with 20" disk and pull it no problem. Seeing you have 4x4 I think you would be fine. I will say I think without some type of attachment on the loader (simple bucket) I think you will need some front ballast weights if you plan to disk without the loader or an attachment. I did some with nothing on my loader this week and noticed I was a little light in the front, fine for where I was, but I wouldn't want to hit the road to my destination like that.

/ Can it do it? Disc and hay grapple #3  
NICE TRACTOR.

The key metric for Disc Harrow function is total implement weight bearing on each disc/pan. Disc Harrow weight is primarily a function of pan diameter. So you need to prioritize/settle on pan diameter first, then Disc Harrow width.

You can comfortably pull a Tandem Disc Harrow with 22" diameter pans (1,300 to 1,900 pounds/8'), with your L5030. Traction will not be an issue with 22" diameter pans/8' width and your L5030 setup.