3-Point Hitch Ford 5000 Rear PTO spins even when not engaged

/ Ford 5000 Rear PTO spins even when not engaged #1  

tcweb

Tractor
JD 2305, Ford5000
ford5000a.jpg

Hello, I've searched the forums, and can't seem to find a similar post, but please let me know if I missed something.

When I disengage the PTO on my ford5000 (rear, running an 84" landpride brushhog), the PTO shaft still spins, although slower.
You can clearly hear it spin up when you engage it. My guess is that this can be adjusted, but I'm kind of new to PTO in general.

Is the rear PTO controlled by a clutch, or is it hydraulic?

I can live with it as-is, but I'm sure it's a safety issue, and it would be nice to know that the massive blades aren't spinning when I disengage the PTO.

Love this tractor, it is a workhorse!

Thanks,

-Tom

Last edited:
   / Ford 5000 Rear PTO spins even when not engaged #2  
Your PTO clutch is an Hydraulically engaged multiple wet disc style clutch. Depending on the built date of your 5000, the PTO brake is an hydraulically engaged pawl or brake band. Either your pawl is worn out, or your brake band is broken. Again, depending on your build date, the repair will require removal of the lift cover or a rear split to access the clutch.

/ Ford 5000 Rear PTO spins even when not engaged #3  
The tractor in the picture looks about a 71 or 72 I just went through this mine has a non adjustable shoe style brake the band didn't start until 72 or 73 later I think...
Most likley your snap ring has come out of your clutch pack and it allowed the main spring to not have enough force on the piston in the clutch pack to press the fluid back out when u disengage it so that means the fluid is staying in for longer keeping the clutch discs togeather and causing it to continue to spin after you disengage it.

I have pictures if u need them.