DK40 cranking but not starting

/ DK40 cranking but not starting #1  

bullebak

Bronze Member
Tractor
Daedong DK40
Yesterday I was happily spraying 200l of noxious weed poison and decided to take a break halfway. But on return it refused to start. Parked in the middle of the driveway (slighty downhill) blocking all traffic.

I was thinking of towing the tractor with my car (to near the shed), but I think the tractor will be pulling the car down the hill instead...

Crankshaft turning, engine not starting.
Fuel in tank.
Glowplugs appear to be working normally.

I have a service manual, and intend to check out the fuel delivery today, but I am not experienced with this.

Anyone can give me a hint where to start looking?

Thanks,
Tony.

/ DK40 cranking but not starting #2  
Safety switches have been known to go bad on other makes. Common locations are clutch (if your tractor has one) and under the seat. Sometimes wiring gets pulled out by brush.

/ DK40 cranking but not starting #3  
How have you determined if the Glow Plugs are "working normally"?

When cranking the engine are you seeing white smoke from the exhaust? Or no smoke?? (No smoke - No fuel delivery.)

Is the engine rotating at a sufficient speed for combustion? Slow cranking (Weak battery, weak starter, ??) will cause a 'No start' symptom.

/ DK40 cranking but not starting
How have you determined if the Glow Plugs are "working normally"?

When cranking the engine are you seeing white smoke from the exhaust? Or no smoke?? (No smoke - No fuel delivery.)

Is the engine rotating at a sufficient speed for combustion? Slow cranking (Weak battery, weak starter, ??) will cause a 'No start' symptom.

Glow Plugs indicator light works as per normal.
Normal healthy cranking, no smoke, no firing, looks likes no fuel delivery.

PS:
Today the car pulled the tractor to a more servicable spot (usually its the other way around...). Had a good look for anything obvious but nothing suspicious to be seen. Still won't fire up.