HST vs shuttle

/ HST vs shuttle #1  

Skip77

Bronze Member
Tractor
Mahindra 6065
Being new to the HST (meaning I know nothing about them) I have some questions for those who know more than I do. I was raised up running tractors from the age of 5 or 6 and was running my dads tractor solo around that age. I have only operated old school manual transmission tractors or a shuttle shift manual tractor so I have no real world experience with a HST. I have heard that the HST can and do lose power as they age do to the hydraulics weakening over time. I have even heard that it starts as early as 6 or 7 years old. I have been looking at and researching different tractors as I will be needing to buy one soon. I have almost 40 acres that is mostly pasture and mostly a hillside. I will be mowing, possibly putting up hay as well as feeding it in the winter. I will need to perform upkeep on the road and haul rocks. I would like to get a backhoe attachment for running water, electric lines as needed or just digging drainage or digging new cattleguard ditches. I also have a pond that I will be draining and cleaning out at some point. With all this in mind I would like your opinions and real life experiences to help me decide if a shuttle or a HST tractor is right for my needs. Once that is established we will then get into size and brand talks.

Thank you

Skip

/ HST vs shuttle #2  
If you are not pulling heavy weight or using ground engaging implements, you'll thank everyone who tells you to get a hydro. And this is coming from a once diehard gear guy.

/ HST vs shuttle #3  
...I have heard that the HST can and do lose power as they age do to the hydraulics weakening over time...
Never heard that before and pretty sure is not true.

/ HST vs shuttle #4  
For operation your size I would get shuttle shift or power shift. You are gonna need a 50 plus HP tractor.

Hydro is good for loader work. But for heavy PTO work like hay and mowing shuttle is my choice. I have both.