Dirt Moving Techniques To Leveling Dirt

/ Techniques To Leveling Dirt #1  

bmarshall1

Tractor
Cub Cadet EX3200
Hello...

I will be grading about 2 acres of my lot, i have a Yanmar EX3200 w/ a box blade and Ratchet Rake. Short of becoming a wizard with the control levers, is there a secret to leveling dirt/sand on one or two passes. What I am finding is that as the tractor follows the contours of the ground, so do the blades and thus I am not leveling, just grading the dips. Any hints?

/ Techniques To Leveling Dirt #2  
I'm no expert, but it was mentioned on TBN to rip/till the soil on the high spots so that you can scoop it with the loader and move it to the low spots. A tooth bar on the loader helps.

/ Techniques To Leveling Dirt #3  
Start with a level spot, flip the grader blade around facing away from you... and move backwards. That is the only way I have found to not have the shape of the earth effect what the blade is doing behind you.

Or you would need to manually raise/lower the box/grader blade to take high spots that your driving over.

/ Techniques To Leveling Dirt
Start with a level spot, flip the grader blade around facing away from you... and move backwards. That is the only way I have found to not have the shape of the earth effect what the blade is doing behind you.

Or you would need to manually raise/lower the box/grader blade to take high spots that your driving over.

Thanks Rock Crawler - this is the kind of info I am looking for, I'll give it a shot

/ Techniques To Leveling Dirt #5  

If you have turnbuckle AKA 'chain' stabilizers supporting your Three Point Hitch Lower Links do not PUSH the Box Blade with tractor in reverse without considering carefully if you will bend or break the unsupported stabilizers.

Cautiously PUSHING a Box Blade is a reasonable proposition only with rigid stabilizers supporting the Three Point Hitch Lower Links. Caution advised.

I use the Ratchet Rake bucket attachment for dragging dirt to fill depressions.