cedar trees

/ cedar trees #1  

tankeryanker

Tractor
ford 2n kubota l5030
OK I'm new with a front-end loader any body know any tricks on getting out cedar trees....

/ cedar trees #2  
Well, if you want to LOAD cedar trees, then you're in the right territory. Loaders are for loading, not removing cedar trees! /forums/images/graemlins/grin.gif /forums/images/graemlins/grin.gif
That said, it's very difficult to remove most trees unless you have a toothbar on your loader bucket. A loader bucket without teeth is almost useless for that kind of digging.
With a toothbar, you start out where the end of the trees canopy hangs over the ground, where the roots are not as thick. Dig in there moving toward the tree, all around the tree until you're broken all the roots. You can then attach a rope or chain to your drawbar and the tree and pull it down, or you may be able to push it over with the loader.
I wouldn't even attempt doing it anymore without a toothbar though. There's just not enough cut on the cutting edge to do much good digging. John

/ cedar trees #3  
How big is your tractor and how big are cedars? The small ones up to 3" can usually be scraped off at ground level. I take the 4-8" size and dig to cut roots on one side then, push high on tree away from cut to topple it. Next back off and push root ball to free remaing roots. Anything bigger will take digging all around. This is with a 7,000lb tractor though, if yours is bigger. might could take on bigger stuff and vice versa for smaller tractor Also I have sandy loam, clay will be more difficult.

/ cedar trees #4