Backhoe Small Backhoe vs Mini Trackhoe

/ Small Backhoe vs Mini Trackhoe #1  

sherpa

Platinum Member
Tractor
2004 NH TC33D & 2014 NH Boomer 24
I own a Kubota B20 TLB. I have been using my TLB for a little over a year and I am still learning. I live in the mountains and I want to get on this hill behind my cabin and build some small ATV roads so I can have better access to my hilly property. I have one deep gully (you could hide 25 cars in) that I have to cross on the side of one hill. I dont want to turn my little narrow B20 tractor over doing this work.
(I have a similar post in another forum) I have several questions:

Would I be better off with a mini trackhoe on this hill?
Are there training videos available for operating a small backhoe or mini trackhoe?
Are the training videos expensive or worth buying?
Would the mini trackhoe be safer than my B20 TLB?

Other notes:
I have some timber cutters coming to cut some trees; I could hire them to do the roads.
I already own the B20; I don’t own a mini trackhoe. I would have to buy or rent a mini trackhoe.
I would enjoy doing this project myself.
Sherpa

/ Small Backhoe vs Mini Trackhoe #2  
</font><font color="blue" class="small">( Other notes:
I have some timber cutters coming to cut some trees; I could hire them to do the roads.

I would enjoy doing this project myself.
Sherpa )</font>

Sherpa

Personally, I'd probably look hard at having the loggers do it.
Not sure at your location but around here (hilly W. PA), it's considered normal for them to bring in a dozer and cut trails to traverse hills. Their dozer can do it safer and significantly faster. The trails it took me 3 months to make with my CUT, a dozer could do in about a day.