Mowing Mowing speed changes

/ Mowing speed changes #1  

BER

Bronze Member
Tractor
MF1235 HST MFWD
I'm new to the operation of tractors, so this question might sound dumb. I currently use a 25HP tractor with HST tran. to mow. I,m thinking about buying a larger HP tractor and the price of gears vs HST looks good. My question is; to slow your speed with a gear tran, while mowing through the occasional tough spots, do you have to shift gears? On a HST it's easy to slow the ground speed using the pedal, and the PTO speed remains constant. How is this done on a gear tran. tractor. Does the throttle pedal come in to use in this situation?

/ Mowing speed changes #2  
With a hydrostat, the engine RPM and PTO speed remain constant while the ground speed is variable. With gear drive, the ground speed will be varied with the gear selection, so yes you will be changing gears to regulate ground speed. As a side note, the hydrostat tractors will hold a higher resale value. /forums/images/graemlins/smirk.gif

/ Mowing speed changes #3  
With a geared tractor, you'll have to shift gears if you want to keep the PTO RPM. You can slow down with the throttle, but that'll slow the mower blades, too. Of course, I guess there's the other possibility to keep the PTO speed up and that is to slip the clutch, but I'd sure do that sparingly. Shifting gears might not be too bad with the newer tractors with synchromesh transmissions, but I've never used one of those yet.

/ Mowing speed changes #4  
</font><font color="blue" class="small">( My question is; to slow your speed with a gear tran, while mowing through the occasional tough spots, do you have to shift gears? )</font>

I very rarely shift gears when mowing.
If I'm mowing an open area I set the hand throttle, sit back relax and mow.
When mowing in tighter areas, around trees or rough areas I use the foot throttle, slow down through the rough or tight area, once through shove the foot throttle back to the floor and go.