Tires I need info on foam filled tires

/ I need info on foam filled tires #1  

DmansPadge

Veteran Member
Tractor
Kubota B2620, Toro 2000 Series Z Master
Yesterday I was cleaning up some burn piles that consisted of a little bit of everything. This morning I had a front tire flat. /forums/images/graemlins/frown.gif My neighbor recommended filling the fronts with foam. I've heard people talking about it before, but, I have no experience with doing so. Any info/advice would be appreciated!

/ I need info on foam filled tires #2  
You can't foam fill tires yourself, at least not normally. It is common to take your tires some place and have them do it.

The place I used required that the tires be left overnight to be sure they were cured properly before used.

My tractor dealer said that different places can make the foam filled tires harder or softer. Some softness is desirable. One person here has reported he broke front axle spindles with foam filled tires on the front of his tractor. I forget what tractor it was and whether it was 2 or 4 wheel drive. It is reasonable that some flex would be more desirable than concrete in the tires...less shock load on the front end components.

The place I used was recommended by my dealer as doing a good job and not making the tires too hard. They are still relatively hard though. I have over 500 hours on the front tires on my B2910 Kubota without problem. I had those tires foam filled after getting my first flat at about hour two of tractor ownership. I am glad I did. It cost me about $70 per tire two years and 8 months ago.

I had the front tires of my BX2200 foam filled last summer at a cost of $38 per tire.

The foam add a lot of weight. You will be surprised at the before and after weight. They charge by the pound for the foam fill around here I think.

I have no regrets and if I bought a third tractor, I would foam fill the front tires on it too. I am that happy with it.