Tractor business?? Advice/info

/ Tractor business?? Advice/info #1  

SCOOBY14B

Silver Member
Tractor
Kubota BX2660 Ansung B2504 FE loader and Kubota MMM
I hope this is the right forum, if not...please advise.

I have been contemplating doing this for quite some time. First off, I have alot of time on heavy equipment (mainly CAT 963, D5-9, 621's, 325,330, etc). I have also operated numerous skid steers, but not many tractors...go figure.

I am thinking of purchasing a tractor to do as a side business. I am a fulltime firefighter/ Mr. Mom, but wanting something to do in offtime for money and myself. I was thinking of purchasing a tractor (most likely Kubota 4wd, most likely an L3400). I was thinking of getting a 5-6' rough cut mower for field bushhogging, a pulverizor or similar for landscape prep, box blade and a front end loader if I could swing it. I would prefer to buy a good used unit since I am starting off. I have no used for a tractor on my property (small subdivision lot) so it will all be for hire.

Questions:

1) First off, any advice or recommendations from the experts?

2) What kind of rates are being charged? I live in NE Georgia in a rural area 2 hours NE of Atlanta. I have asked around and looked in yellow pages and have only found ONE preson who does tractor work within a 30 miles radius. I know there are more, but they are not easy to find.

3) What sort/amount of insurance should I consider?

4) Since I have little to no experience in this, I have no idea on how to calculate time to bush-hog an area. I'm sure with experience it comes, but don't want to present myself as an idiot.

5) Any advice you guys can give me, I would greatly appreciate.

Thanks again.

/ Tractor business?? Advice/info #2  
While you can charge for bush hogging, you can charge much more for doing lawn preperation. Id' look at a box blade and preseeder. Rates are vary from place to place, I'd say 65-75/hr is a start. Sounds like your in a great area for it.