row crop spacing?

/ row crop spacing? #1  

bdog

Elite Member
Tractor
John Deere 6130M
I just traded for a 2 row lister (3 15" furrowers on a 2" diamond toolbar), and a 2 row planter. Most of the farmers around here use 40" rows and the lister and planter are set up for 40" rows.

Problem is my tractor tires are 48" on center. There is some adjustment on the width, but for the other things I do, and the difficulty of adjusting the width, they are going to stay at 48". I could not set them to 40" or 80" even if I wanted to.

I am a newbie to this but with a 48" tire spacing I am limited to either a 48" or 24" row spacing - correct? I mean if I list the field with 40" rows, then when I go to plant the tractor tires are not going to be in the row bottoms.

From what I have read on the internet most people use 30-40" rows. To me 24" seems too narrow and 48" too wide. What would you recommend I use? I am mainly going to be planting sweet corn, and other vegetables for home gardens, but some of these may be 2-3 acres.

/ row crop spacing? #2  
</font><font color="blue" class="small">( What would you recommend I use? )</font>

I would pick up another tractor that will cultivate the 40" rows. The one you have will get you through the soil work-up phase, and maybe even the planting. After that, cultivating will need to be done with the right row-crop spacing.
If you go with 24" rows, you will likely have to get narrower tires for your "48" tractor to fit between the 24" rows.
These CUTs weren't designed for row crops, seems like.

/ row crop spacing?
I measured and my tires are exactly 12" wide. So from inside to inside of my tires is 36", outside to outside is 60". So I guess technically I could fit between 24" rows, but if I got off by an inch or two I would damge the rows. So it seems that 48" rows are my only option?

/ row crop spacing? #4