loud tractor

/ loud tractor #1  

jimmysisson

Veteran Member
Tractor
1993 NH 2120 (the best), 1974 MF 135 (sold, but solid), 1947 Farmall A (bought, sold, bought back, sold again), 1956 MH50 lbt (sold, in 1980, darn it)
My old MF 135 with low exhaust was a 3-cylinder Perkins, and had a moderate amount of exhaust noise. My newer Ford 2120 has a 4-cyl. Shibaura engine with a stack that bellows beyond its actual displacement would indicate. I think the muffler is intact, though it's 13 years old (original). This one makes more noise than a JD 410 industrial backhoe with 3x the power. I know as a lifelong carpenter my hearing is poorer than others' might be, and I'm sensitive to loud sounds. I don't even like walking near this machine idling without earmuffs on. I like everything else about it; size, handling, power, but it is pretty barky. Does anyone think a muffler would help this? Any other suggestions?
Happy New Year, Jim

/ loud tractor #2  
If the sound bothers you that much I can't imagine not trying a new muffler. Unless you're stuck on original equipment, I'd check auto parts stores for a reasonable facsimile. I got a muffler/stack combo from NAPA that was close enough for me and considerably cheaper than the Kubota part. With mine it wasn't that it was too noisy, it was rusted out.

/ loud tractor #3  
If there is any way to mount the exhaust lower and pointed to the ground like newer tractors, that would make a huge difference. The ground absorbs most of the sound and really helps the noise.

/ loud tractor #4  
I'm with jimainiac.

I also have sensitive hearing from over exposure to STEREO. /forums/images/graemlins/blush.gif But this is in the higher frequency ranges as these are the sound pitches that you will notice failing or "ringing" (normally) first. Unless for some bizarre reason you have been subjected to high power incredibly low frequency sounds for extended periods.