Releasing 3 point hitch ?

/ Releasing 3 point hitch ? #1  

bcarwell

Gold Member
Tractor
Kabota 7500DT
I'm a rookie. Just bought a Kubota 7500 with a brush hog attached to the 3 point hitch.
Can somebody please tell me what the trick is to disconnecting the hitch from the brush hog ?
After releasing the quick release pins on the two outsidelinks, I can't seem to get the links to move outwards beyond the pins on the hog. The hitch was moved so the hog is resting on the ground. I've tried lifting the hitch a little and that seemed to help remove tension on the links so they could move a little. But I still needed to go about 1/2 inch outwards for the links to be completely free from the hog's pins. And for the life of me, the links won't budge any farther outward.
What is the trick ? It's a pain to keep draggin' that hog behind me... Thanks for any help for this Newb.

Bob

/ Releasing 3 point hitch ? #2  
Loosen the turnbuckles beside the lower arms to let the arms move more freely. It will help to lower one arm a little and pull it off first, then pull the second arm off while the first one slides below its pin. That way you only need to gain the length of one pin at a time.

I hear that a really good help is to set the stump jumper of the brush hog on an old tire before you unhook. That way you can rotate the implement without using a huge prybar and hurting yourself. I have not tried it, but only because I don't take the time to go get the tire before I unhook.

One thing's for sure: it went on, so it will come off.

This topic comes up fairly often, but you'll get it with just a little practice. Soon you'll change it out in just minutes without any worries or choice words.

Good luck!

- Just Gary

/ Releasing 3 point hitch ? #3