What am I not getting... 3 pt and trailer

/ What am I not getting... 3 pt and trailer #1  

SmoothSippin

Tractor
Deere 2305 Deere 757
Ok, so I have a JD2305. I also have a small trailer that I would like to drag behind it. Well, seems the 3 pt is in the way of hooking it up (to the tractor hitch behind the lower arms). Am I missing something here, or do I need to remove the arms to hook up the wagon? Sorry for the ignorance, but I am a newbie to the 3 point world. For your amusement, I detached my box blade for the first time yesterday. I believe my neighbors (who live very far away) got a lesson in articulating foul language . Guess I will be getting an Quick hitch soon as well. One would think that, by now, someone would make moving the lower arms (I am sure they have a proper name) off the implement a TAD easier. Gee I cannot wait to hook up the PHD.

BTW, this site has been very helpful to me! Thanks all.

/ What am I not getting... 3 pt and trailer #2  
You should have a draw bar that inserts/or not right under the rear axle housing that has a hole it it for a trailer ball or clevis or trailer that doesn't need a ball.
You should not have to remove the lower 3pt arms to tow a trailer.

/ What am I not getting... 3 pt and trailer #3  
the easy way may be to get a drawbar to hook between the lower links.
Imagine a rectangular bar with holes in it for the trailer ball and pins that go into each lower link. Any tractor store can sell you one. If there is a Tractor Supply Store near you they have them and a little clip thingy to keep the bar from rotating so the ball always stays upright. This gives you the advantage of using the 3pth to raise and lower the tounge of the trailer.

/ What am I not getting... 3 pt and trailer #4  
SmoothSippin said:
seems the 3 pt is in the way of hooking it up (to the tractor hitch behind the lower arms). Am I missing something here