Clearing questions front a newbie.

/ Clearing questions front a newbie. #1  

Blakemorar

Tractor
MF 1547 Hydro
I am new to tractors all together, but have several jobs to do with some property I just bought. I thought about hiring someone to do the initial work and me concentrate on maintaining the property. I have 65 acres with about 17 acres in pasture, 35 acres wooded and the balance is wetland. I would like to cut some trails through the wooded area and clean up around some grandpa oaks and wild Magnolias. How aggressive can you get with clearing 30 year old grown up woods with a 45 hp Tractor, 6 foot heavy duty rotary cutter and a FEL? I have about a $30K investent and I might as well put this baby to work in order to save about $15K (quoted) worth of work. What type of limitations should I be aware of? I can use some guidance.

/ Clearing questions front a newbie. #2  
The 6' hd mower powered by the ample 45 hp tractor should pretty much chew up anything you can push over with the front axle... In keeping with taking care of your equipment.. around here.. it's a fair consensus that 2" green material and 1.5" woody material can be mowed pretty regularly, and the accidental 3" green, and 2" woody every now and then makes alot of noise.. and otherwise doesn't hurt much.. as long as you are not mowing a hedgerow of the stuff.

Small trees that are green and flexible should be pretty easy to push over using mechanical advantage, and your loader... Anything 4" and woody is chainsaw teritory, IMHO.

Feel free to post specific questions.

Soundguy

Blakemorar said: